NEW GRIST Certified Gluten-Free Beer

Kosher-certified product logo
Gluten-Free Certification Organization logo; text reads, "Certified Gluten Free," next to stylized "G" logo.

Conventional beer isn’t gluten-free.

Typical beers include malted barley and wheat. Since both barley and wheat contain gluten, beers made from these ingredients aren’t gluten-free.

New Grist is different.

New Grist™ is a one-of-a-kind beer brewed without malted barley or wheat. Together, sorghum, rice, millet, hops, water and gluten-free yeast form a crisp, refreshing session beer brewed for those seeking out a certified gluten-free beer.

Gluten-Removed beer uses barley & wheat, but employs an enzyme to “remove” the gluten.
This still leaves some gluten in the beer. WE DO NOT. There’s a difference.

Rated 91/100 by Wine Enthusiast magazine.

First brewed in 2006, New Grist helped rewrite the rules on beer. Prior to that, U.S. Government standards stated that a product labeled “beer” must contain a minimum of 25% malted barley. This meant brewing and selling a gluten-free beer was illegal. Lakefront Brewery petitioned the Tax and Trade Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (TTB) for a new beer category detailed in a statement of process.